Campsite and caravan park review discussions

12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
markf Written by markf
April 24, 2012
Merley Court
Update from the campsite

"Currently our Merley Inn is closed (campsite still open) and is due to be refurbished re-opening in Summer 2012. Our heated outdoor swimming pool and paddling pool open from the Spring Bank Holiday to early September (weather permitting). The children's playground and short tennis courts are open. Our guests are advised that they can use the indoor swimming pool, bar and restaurant facilities at our Oakdene Forest Park which is 7 miles from Merley."
markf Written by markf
April 24, 2012
Merley Court
As of April 2012 this is inaccurate.The park itself is as stated in review but now all the other facilities---bar,restaurant,kitchen,pool,childrens indoor area---are derelict and of course shut.There is a notice saying renovation for 2012--I dont think so this year.
HMYC Written by HMYC
February 14, 2012
No glamour in glamping !
Hello there - Steph from Haven Meadows Yurt Camp :-)
All we can say is, yes the beds were shocking (we should have road tested them first!)
As it was our first year of trading, yes we have come across several 'holes' in our provision (and, I hasten to add, received alot of positive feedback - the majority so from our feedback forms).
The issues were a result of: planning issues which diverted our attention, resources and creativity into major bureaucracy, and a major family crisis over last summer (I run HMYC with my sister). We also suffered a cowboy consultant who managed to walk off with lot of money without completing work to spec :/ but these are OUR start-up problems, expected in any first year of trading. HOWEVER:
This is what we have done to improve things for 2012:
We have a new Welcome Space (the straw-bale tool store has been converted to welcome campers with tea and information). Here will also be a small-scale shop and cafe.
We have a totally new water system to comply with reg.s (they didn't like the filtered rainwater I've been using for the last 8 years!) - spring water showers for 2012!
Each yurt has a completely new 12 volt rig, so better lighting for all the yurts, plus charging ports.
New outdoor solar lights for the camping field so no tripping up in the night or flashlight issues!
New decking for outside the shower block.
Upgraded and jazzed up compost loos!
We hope also plan erect our small marquee for a wet-weather covered-but-open 'communal' space this year, complete with burner.
A big new barbeque!
We hope this goes in some way to mitigate issues and please - do not hesitate to contact us with queries or comments. It is all really valuable for us.
Best wishes,
Steph and Monica, Haven Meadows Yurt Camp.
HMYC Written by HMYC
February 14, 2012
Worst beds, not great for kids
Hi Jane, I am not sure if you got a previous email from us a while back regarding your disappointing stay, we tried to follow up on these issues to no avail.
First thing to say is: it was our first year of trading and the most prevalent feedback has been - the beds. Yes they have all been replaced! We are really sorry you had to put up with that and this has been rectified as a matter of urgency :-(

As it was our first year of trading we have had a deal with an unprecedented amount of council busy-bodying - unfortunately yurts seem to cause much consternation, especially for a conservative council like ours. We are however able to continue trading pending appeal, but they have made our small yurt camp jump through some pretty spectacular hoops! Our resources have ben directed at alot of this and sadly there were a few holes in our provision of glamping comfort.
This Winter, all the beds have been replaced, the compost loos completely upgraded AND we have had to put in a new shower system. Bearing in mind the site had nothing but nothing on it 2 years back, most of our start-up resources have been put into making this place habitable for more than just sheep and wildlife.
We have also re-wired all the yurts with much bigger 12v electricity capacity, and added decking to outside the showerblock.
We're really sorry you were overcrowded, and sorry the space provision was not adequately conveyed to you on booking.
We know that this year we can dedicate alot more energy to the details and we apologise massively for your disappointing stay. We really believe in our new business and it is vital we get it as 'right' as we can - so thank you for your feedback. We're sure you wouldn't be disappointed if you came again.
Best wishes,
Steph and Monica at Haven Meadows Yurt Camp
Written by Jane
July 19, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
In reply to the comments from R Gregory - I was on the weekend break with Helen. I can back up all of her comments. I believe the Haven Meadows owners should have said they couldn't fit 7 of us into the yurt when I enquired about the booking. We would have found somewhere else where we would hopefully have been more comfortable.
And the beds were really shocking - the thinnest futons I have ever come across.
There is the potential there for it to be a great experience, but a bit more attention needs to be paid to creating comfortable accommodation. I have stayed in other yurts which were more luxurious and more spacious and cheaper.
Written by helen
July 18, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
I wasn't discrediting glamping in general, just this particular glamping experience. I have also camped many times myself and I have usually enjoyed it when weather has been kind to us. When camping you expect things to be abit rough and ready but i think the definition of glamping is being used too freely. Comparing websites there are definately some places that do definately offer glamping but there are many variations on this.
No haven meadows does not offer a yurt for 7 people, only 6 but when we booked we were told there was plenty of room for 7 as we had 3 little ones.
AND by the way I did not expect them to provide everything for us including a flashlight, we took 3 of our own thank you !
Unless you have been to this campsite, perhaps you should not pass judgement on my opinion as what is on the website is slightly different to what you get.
Written by R Gregory
July 17, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
It's too bad that Helen had a bad experience but I sure wouldn't discredit 'glamping' because of it. I visited the Haven Meadows website and they don't even advertise accommodations for that many people in one yurt.

I'm a mother, I have children, and I have done tent camping all my life from the time they were 6 months old. Aside from the bad bed (shame on Haven Meadows for that) I personally wouldn't have expected much different based on what is on their website. I mean seriously, it's a yurt in the middle of a field without the promise of providing EVERYTHING you need....like a flashlight.
markf Written by markf
April 07, 2010
Searles
Thank you for your review
markf Written by markf
March 22, 2010
Merley Court
Thanks David
markf Written by markf
January 11, 2010
A favourite!
Many thanks for the review spread the word
Written by Mark
December 03, 2009
Excellent holiday site for caravans and tents
Thanks for the review, very helpfull
markf Written by markf
November 01, 2009
Golden Sands
Thanks for the review Gray
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
 

Existing user Login

Campsite Groups

Who's Online

We have 800 guests and no members online

Total number and counting

There are 2474 listings and 137 reviews.

Campsite Videos

Aerial view of Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Aerial view of Shaw Hall Holiday Park

Submitted by: markf
2 weeks, 1 day ago
Llanystumdwy Camping and Caravanning  Club Site

Llanystumdwy Camping and Caravanning Club Site

A beautiful campsite location on the Lleyn Peninsula in North Wales. Our Llanystumdwy Club campsite in North West Wales is located between mountains and sea in an area of natural beauty. Its position makes it ideal for exploring both the Lleyn Peninsula and Snowdonia National Park – both great...
Submitted by: markf
2 weeks, 6 days ago
Juniper Hill Caravan Park

Juniper Hill Caravan Park

Juniper Hill Caravan Park in Portstewart, Northern Ireland
Submitted by: markf
3 weeks, 2 days ago
Warren Farm Holiday Centre, Brean, Somerset - Official Video

Warren Farm Holiday Centre, Brean, Somerset - Official Video

Warren Farm Holiday Centre has everything you need for the perfect family holiday. From the beach and children's activities, to restaurants and nightlife, we've got it all covered. We cater for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents, as well as having luxurious static caravans available to hire. The Beachcomber is...
Submitted by: markf
3 weeks, 4 days ago
Far Peak

Far Peak

Far Peak are a outdoor activities centre, tucked away in the beautiful surroundings of Northleach, Gloucestershire. They offer onsite camping and outdoor activities including a ropes course, archery and climbing facilities and tuition. My criteria was to create a promotional film for the centre that showed off what was on...
Submitted by: markf
3 weeks, 6 days ago
Mundesley Holiday Village, Lodges for sale Norfolk, holiday lodges for sale

Mundesley Holiday Village, Lodges for sale Norfolk, holiday lodges for sale

Holiday lodges for sale, Mundesley Holiday Village, luxury lodges and bungalows for sale or rent. Lodges for sale Norfolk, Holiday homes for sale. http://www.mundesleyholidayvillage.co.uk/sales https://www.facebook.com/MundesleyHolidayVillage sea view holiday bungalows for sale lodges for sale Norfolk, Norfolk holiday homes, buy holiday homes Norfolk holiday lodges for sale
Submitted by: markf
on 14 April 2018
Upper Hurst Farm Camping

Upper Hurst Farm Camping

Aerial footage Upper Hurst Farm Camping by L.G Photographie 2017
Submitted by: markf
on 14 April 2018
Bank House Farm by RC Heli Cam Limited

Bank House Farm by RC Heli Cam Limited

This is a promotional video for Bank House Campsite Filmed and edited By RC Heli Cam Limited
Submitted by: markf
on 12 April 2018

Newsletter