Campsite and caravan park review discussions

12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
markf Written by markf
April 24, 2012
Merley Court
Update from the campsite

"Currently our Merley Inn is closed (campsite still open) and is due to be refurbished re-opening in Summer 2012. Our heated outdoor swimming pool and paddling pool open from the Spring Bank Holiday to early September (weather permitting). The children's playground and short tennis courts are open. Our guests are advised that they can use the indoor swimming pool, bar and restaurant facilities at our Oakdene Forest Park which is 7 miles from Merley."
markf Written by markf
April 24, 2012
Merley Court
As of April 2012 this is inaccurate.The park itself is as stated in review but now all the other facilities---bar,restaurant,kitchen,pool,childrens indoor area---are derelict and of course shut.There is a notice saying renovation for 2012--I dont think so this year.
HMYC Written by HMYC
February 14, 2012
No glamour in glamping !
Hello there - Steph from Haven Meadows Yurt Camp :-)
All we can say is, yes the beds were shocking (we should have road tested them first!)
As it was our first year of trading, yes we have come across several 'holes' in our provision (and, I hasten to add, received alot of positive feedback - the majority so from our feedback forms).
The issues were a result of: planning issues which diverted our attention, resources and creativity into major bureaucracy, and a major family crisis over last summer (I run HMYC with my sister). We also suffered a cowboy consultant who managed to walk off with lot of money without completing work to spec :/ but these are OUR start-up problems, expected in any first year of trading. HOWEVER:
This is what we have done to improve things for 2012:
We have a new Welcome Space (the straw-bale tool store has been converted to welcome campers with tea and information). Here will also be a small-scale shop and cafe.
We have a totally new water system to comply with reg.s (they didn't like the filtered rainwater I've been using for the last 8 years!) - spring water showers for 2012!
Each yurt has a completely new 12 volt rig, so better lighting for all the yurts, plus charging ports.
New outdoor solar lights for the camping field so no tripping up in the night or flashlight issues!
New decking for outside the shower block.
Upgraded and jazzed up compost loos!
We hope also plan erect our small marquee for a wet-weather covered-but-open 'communal' space this year, complete with burner.
A big new barbeque!
We hope this goes in some way to mitigate issues and please - do not hesitate to contact us with queries or comments. It is all really valuable for us.
Best wishes,
Steph and Monica, Haven Meadows Yurt Camp.
HMYC Written by HMYC
February 14, 2012
Worst beds, not great for kids
Hi Jane, I am not sure if you got a previous email from us a while back regarding your disappointing stay, we tried to follow up on these issues to no avail.
First thing to say is: it was our first year of trading and the most prevalent feedback has been - the beds. Yes they have all been replaced! We are really sorry you had to put up with that and this has been rectified as a matter of urgency :-(

As it was our first year of trading we have had a deal with an unprecedented amount of council busy-bodying - unfortunately yurts seem to cause much consternation, especially for a conservative council like ours. We are however able to continue trading pending appeal, but they have made our small yurt camp jump through some pretty spectacular hoops! Our resources have ben directed at alot of this and sadly there were a few holes in our provision of glamping comfort.
This Winter, all the beds have been replaced, the compost loos completely upgraded AND we have had to put in a new shower system. Bearing in mind the site had nothing but nothing on it 2 years back, most of our start-up resources have been put into making this place habitable for more than just sheep and wildlife.
We have also re-wired all the yurts with much bigger 12v electricity capacity, and added decking to outside the showerblock.
We're really sorry you were overcrowded, and sorry the space provision was not adequately conveyed to you on booking.
We know that this year we can dedicate alot more energy to the details and we apologise massively for your disappointing stay. We really believe in our new business and it is vital we get it as 'right' as we can - so thank you for your feedback. We're sure you wouldn't be disappointed if you came again.
Best wishes,
Steph and Monica at Haven Meadows Yurt Camp
Written by Jane
July 19, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
In reply to the comments from R Gregory - I was on the weekend break with Helen. I can back up all of her comments. I believe the Haven Meadows owners should have said they couldn't fit 7 of us into the yurt when I enquired about the booking. We would have found somewhere else where we would hopefully have been more comfortable.
And the beds were really shocking - the thinnest futons I have ever come across.
There is the potential there for it to be a great experience, but a bit more attention needs to be paid to creating comfortable accommodation. I have stayed in other yurts which were more luxurious and more spacious and cheaper.
Written by helen
July 18, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
I wasn't discrediting glamping in general, just this particular glamping experience. I have also camped many times myself and I have usually enjoyed it when weather has been kind to us. When camping you expect things to be abit rough and ready but i think the definition of glamping is being used too freely. Comparing websites there are definately some places that do definately offer glamping but there are many variations on this.
No haven meadows does not offer a yurt for 7 people, only 6 but when we booked we were told there was plenty of room for 7 as we had 3 little ones.
AND by the way I did not expect them to provide everything for us including a flashlight, we took 3 of our own thank you !
Unless you have been to this campsite, perhaps you should not pass judgement on my opinion as what is on the website is slightly different to what you get.
Written by R Gregory
July 17, 2011
No glamour in glamping !
It's too bad that Helen had a bad experience but I sure wouldn't discredit 'glamping' because of it. I visited the Haven Meadows website and they don't even advertise accommodations for that many people in one yurt.

I'm a mother, I have children, and I have done tent camping all my life from the time they were 6 months old. Aside from the bad bed (shame on Haven Meadows for that) I personally wouldn't have expected much different based on what is on their website. I mean seriously, it's a yurt in the middle of a field without the promise of providing EVERYTHING you need....like a flashlight.
markf Written by markf
April 07, 2010
Searles
Thank you for your review
markf Written by markf
March 22, 2010
Merley Court
Thanks David
markf Written by markf
January 11, 2010
A favourite!
Many thanks for the review spread the word
Written by Mark
December 03, 2009
Excellent holiday site for caravans and tents
Thanks for the review, very helpfull
markf Written by markf
November 01, 2009
Golden Sands
Thanks for the review Gray
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
 

Existing user Login

Campsite Groups

Who's Online

We have 610 guests and one member online

Total number and counting

There are 2323 listings and 132 reviews.

Campsite Videos

Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Take a guided tour around Challaborough Bay Holiday Park, a wonderful beachside park in South Devon. Book your break at Challaborough Bay Holiday Park here: http://ow.ly/opoQk Presented by Hannah Patterson http://www.hannahpatterson.com Written & Directed by Robert Cathcart http://www.polly-phonic.co.uk Camera & Edit by Joe Binks http://www.joebinks.co.uk
Submitted by: markf
on 15 September 2016
Looe Bay Holiday Park

Looe Bay Holiday Park

This useful video tells you all you'll need to know about lively Looe Bay Holiday Park in Cornwall. Book your break at Looe Bay Holiday Park here: http://ow.ly/opoOw Presented by Hannah Patterson http://www.hannahpatterson.com Written & Directed by Robert Cathcart http://www.polly-phonic.co.uk Camera & Edit by Joe Binks http://www.joebinks.co.uk
Submitted by: markf
on 14 September 2016
Warmwell Holiday Park Accommodation

Warmwell Holiday Park Accommodation

Submitted by: markf
on 14 September 2016
Torquay Holiday Park Accommodation

Torquay Holiday Park Accommodation

Torquay Holiday Park English Riviera, Devon,TQ2 8JU
Submitted by: markf
on 13 September 2016
Keswick Camping and Caravanning Club Site

Keswick Camping and Caravanning Club Site

If you’re planning to explore the northern Lakes, our Keswick Club campsite on the shores of Derwentwater is hard to beat as a base for your explorations. The site boasts a prime location in the north of the Lake District with stunning views extending over the lake to...
Submitted by: markf
on 13 September 2016
Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site

Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site

Peaceful and intimate , Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site is set at the foot of the rugged slopes of Beinn Eighe, at the end of a beautiful drive along the valley from Achnasheen. The caravan park is a magical oasis where the world slows down to walking pace and you with...
Submitted by: markf
on 13 September 2016
White Acres Holiday Park Accommodation

White Acres Holiday Park Accommodation

Submitted by: markf
on 12 September 2016
Sea Acres Holiday Park Accommodation

Sea Acres Holiday Park Accommodation

Submitted by: markf
on 12 September 2016
St Minver Holiday Park Accommodation

St Minver Holiday Park Accommodation

Submitted by: markf
on 12 September 2016

Newsletter

JoomBall - Cookies